Distinction in travel journalism
Is independent travel journalism important to you?
Click here to keep it independent

13 Jan, 2017

Dr. Mina Gabor, First Woman Secretary, Department of Tourism, The Philippines

ASEAN Travel & Tourism Hall of Fame – Initiated by Travel Impact Newswire Executive Editor Imtiaz Muqbil to recognise the many veterans who helped grow and shape ASEAN tourism over the last 50 years.

Date of Birth: 13 September 1939

Family: Widowed


– St. Scholastica’s College High School

– BS in Commerce, University of Sto. Tomas

– Master in Business Administration, University of the Philippines

– PhD in Entreprenology, International University of Entreprenology, Hawaii


2011 – Present: Founder and President, International School of Sustainable Tourism

2011 – Present: Director, Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) 

2011 – Present: President, AAP Travel

1992 – Present: President, Philippine Small and Medium Enterprise Development Foundation (PHILSMED), working on the ASEAN-Republic of Korea Project on Improving the Status of ASEAN Mastercrafts

2016 – Present: Columnist, BusinessMirror (The BM Traveller)

2013 – Present: Board Member, De La Salle-College of St. Benilde 

1996 – 1998: Secretary, Department of Tourism; concurrently, Head, Philippine Convention and Visitors Corporation

1994 – 1996: Undersecretary, Department of Tourism

1983 – 1990: Undersecretary, Department of Trade and Industry

1983 – 1990: Founder and President, Center for International Trade Expositions and Missions (CITEM)

1960s – 1980s: Founder and CEO, Lawin Cottage Industries

Other Activities:

Chair Emeritus, International Women’s Forum – Philippine Chapter

Chair Emeritus, Philippines Canada Business Council

Served as Board Member of the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration

Served as a Consultant for the United Nations International Trade Center, United Nations World Tourism Organization, Asian Productivity Organization and Clark International Airport Corporation


1998: Philippine Legion of Honor Award

1998: 10 Outstanding Women in Government (National Press Club)

1998: Centennial Awardee, 100 Outstanding Women in the Philippines

1996: Top 35 Most Powerful Women in Travel (Travel Agent” Newsweekly Magazine)

1996: Tourism Personality of the Year – Travel and Trade Gazette Magazine

1988: International Award for Outstanding Performance in Export Promotion (Japan External Trade Organization)

30 Top Travel Influencers