Distinction in travel journalism
Is independent travel journalism important to you?
Click here to keep it independent

13 Oct, 2015

India Supports Palestinian Authority Budget with $5M, Announces $17.79M Projects

RAMALLAH, October 12, 2015 (WAFA) – India Monday announced a grant worth of $5 million to support the Palestinian Authority’s budget in addition to five projects worth $17.79 million, in the fields of capacity building and education and signed a MOU on cultural cooperation.

According to a press release, President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee started a two day State Visit to the State of Palestine on 12-13 October. The visit is considered the first of its kind from India to the State of Palestine at the Head of State/ Head of Government level.

Mukherjee began his visit by laying a wreath at the Mausoleum of Late President Yasser Arafat and both Presidents paid floral tributes at the Bust of Mahatma Gandhi in the Garden of Nations and jointly inaugurated Maidan Al-Hind at Beitunia City.

President Mahmoud Abbas received Mukherjee in a ceremonial reception at the Presidential Headquarters and both leaders discussed issues relating to bilateral relations, current socio-political developments in the region, recent tensions, and issues related to the Middle East Peace Process.

Mukherjee also congratulated Abbas on the raising of the national flag of Palestine at the United Nations on September 30, 2015 and Abbas is expected to host a State Banquet in honour of the President of India.

Tomorrow, the President will inaugurate the India-Palestine Centre for Excellence in ICT and Innovation in Al Quds University and Jawaharlal Nehru Secondary School for Boys in Abu Dees.

These projects are a gift from the Government and People of India to Palestine as part of India’s capacity building initiatives in Palestine.

Mukherjee was accompanied by a high level delegation including Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment;  a multi-party delegation of the  Members of Parliament, senior officials, senior representatives of Indian educational and academic institutions, and media representatives.