Distinction in travel journalism
Is independent travel journalism important to you?
Click here to keep it independent

11 Jul, 2013

Orchestra Maestro Zubin Mehta To Receive 2013 Tagore Award For Cultural Harmony


New Delhi, Ministry of Culture, 10-July, 2013 – The Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony, 2013 is being conferred on the noted Maestro, Zubin Mehta.

A High-level Jury under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh and comprising the Chief Justice of India, Justice Altamas Kabir, Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha, Mrs. Sushma Swaraj and Mrs Gopalkrishna Gandhi after detailed discussions on 4th July, 2013, unanimously decided to select Mr Zubin Mehta to be the second recipient of the Tagore Award, 2013 in recognition of his outstanding contribution to cultural harmony.

The annual award was instituted by the Govt. of India during the commemoration of 150th Birth Anniversary of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore. The first Tagore Award was conferred on Pandit Ravi Shankar, the Indian Sitar Maestro in 2012.

The award carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a citation in a scroll, a plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item. The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or sex.