Distinction in travel journalism
Is independent travel journalism important to you?
Click here to keep it independent

7 Oct, 2011

Bids Open for 2012 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Cultural Heritage Awards

Bangkok (UNESCO Media release) – Entries are now being accepted for the 2012 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. The Awards recognize the achievement of the private sector and public-private initiatives in conserving or restoring structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region. The deadline is 31 March 2012.

Since the Awards were established in 2000, UNESCO has received 426 entries from 24 countries. A total of 140 projects have received Awards for high achievement in conservation, while 5 projects have received the Jury Commendation for Innovation.

The 2012 Awards cycle marks a milestone for the programme, after successful implementation over the first twelve years. With support from the Macau Foundation, the Awards programme is now being enhanced to have even greater impact in raising awareness about exemplary practices in conserving heritage sites around the region.

Projects involving heritage properties more than fifty years old which were completed within the last ten years are eligible for consideration. Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological heritage sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for entry. The project must be the result of private sector initiative or public-private partnership.

In addition to the conservation awards, the “Jury Commendation for Innovation” will also be considered for newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding architectural design that is well-integrated into historic contexts.

Entries for the 2012 Awards programme must be submitted with an official entry form, project description, drawings and photographs to UNESCO Bangkok.

Winners will be announced in September 2012, with a selected number of entries receiving the “Award of Excellence”, “Award of Distinction”, “Award of Merit”, “Honourable Mention” and “Jury Commendation”.

In 2011, Baojiatun Watermill in Guizhou Province, China and Sumda Chun Gonpa in Leh, India were honoured with the Awards of Excellence.

The Award of Distinction went to the Altit Fort in Hunza, Pakistan. The two Awards of Merit include the Serkhang Monastery in Qinghai Province, China and the Scriptures Hall of Wat Thepthidaram Worawihan in Bangkok, Thailand.

Three Honourable Mentions were also announced. They are the SCAD Hong Kong (Former North Kowloon Magistracy Building) in Hong Kong SAR, China; the Na Phra Lan Historic Shophouses in Bangkok, Thailand; and the Salarian Pavilion of Wat Kutao in Songkhla, Thailand.

The two 2011 Jury Commendation for Innovation were awarded to the Sydney Harbour YHA and the Big Dig Archaeology Education Centre in New South Wales, Australia and Ma’anqiao Village in Sichuan Province, China.

To apply for the 2012 Awards, visit the Awards website